20 MW of Power for Stabilising the Swiss Transmission Grid

Industry News – Friday, May 22, 2020

Alpiq will manage the largest, most powerful battery in Switzerland on behalf of MW Storage AG and offer its capacity on the ancillary services market to stabilise the transmission grid. The 20-MW battery storage facility will go into operation in the third quarter of 2020 in Brunnen in the Canton of Schwyz.

The battery offers 20 MW of power and a capacity of 18 MWh. The stored energy could be used to simultaneously operate around 11,000 computers for twelve hours or drive 1,400 electric cars a distance of around 100 kilometres each. The battery, which is financed by private investors, will be used for ancillary services and, hence, to stabilise the Swiss transmission grid. Alpiq is responsible for managing and marketing the battery. For this purpose, Alpiq and MW Storage AG, which is based in the Canton of Zug, have concluded an agreement for an initial term of five years.

Secondary control power thanks to integration in the Alpiq portfolio

Alpiq’s climate-friendly, CO2-free flexibility portfolio includes third-party systems, for example a storage battery in Maienfeld, in addition to its own storage power plants. Through integration into this unique pool, Alpiq can primarily use the 20-MW battery in Brunnen for valuable secondary control power. In a second step, Alpiq will apply to the national transmission grid operator, Swissgrid, to also qualify the battery for primary control power. The increasing fluctuating power from sun and wind sources places higher requirements in terms of grid regulation. As a result, flexible capacities, which make a contribution to the security of supply, are becoming increasingly important.

More information: Alpiq

The battery’s key figures are impressive: 20 MW of power, a capacity of 18 MWh and a volume equivalent to seven shipping containers.
You are using an outdated browser

The website cannot be viewed in this browser. Please open the website in an up-to-date browser such as Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.